NVAR honors top Nevada REALTORS®, including REALTOR® of the Year Blane Johnson

The Nevada Association of REALTORS® (NVAR) honored its leading members Thursday night, naming Blane Johnson its 2012 Nevada REALTOR® of the Year and recognizing five others for their continued service to their association, their profession and their communities.

Johnson, a real estate broker and owner of Incline at Tahoe Realty, served as NVAR’s 2012 president after serving as president-elect in 2011. He is a graduate of the Leadership NVAR program, has served as president of the Incline Village Association of REALTORS® and has served on numerous local and NVAR committees, including chairing NVAR’s Professional Standards Committee. A 30-year resident of the Lake Tahoe area, Johnson has also served on the board of Tahoe-Can, an umbrella organization for 65 nonprofit organizations in and around Lake Tahoe, and was recently president of CYMBAL, an organization of music boosters for schools in the Incline Village area.

At its annual awards event in Las Vegas, NVAR also honored the following longtime members:

  • Sharon Exarhos, of Las Vegas – Nevada Distinguished REALTOR® Award for ongoing and consistent service to NVAR and the real estate profession. During a real estate career she began in 1976, she has been active in numerous state and local associations, including serving as a past president of the Greater Las Vegas Association of REALTORS® (GLVAR) Women’s Council of REALTORS®.
  • Charles Kitchen, of Carson City, and Keith Kelley, of Las Vegas – REALTOR® Active in Politics Award for government affairs advocacy and activities. Both men have been active members of their state and local associations for many years, playing a leading role in government affairs initiatives supporting private property rights and other causes key to their profession.
  • Brad Spires, of Gardnerville, Nev. – Joe Nolan Award recognizing spirit, passion and professionalism in serving fellow REALTORS® in Nevada. Spires, a retired U.S. Air Force Reserve officer with more than 20 years of real estate experience, has served as president of the Tahoe-Douglas Chamber of Commerce, a trustee for the Douglas County Education Foundation, marketing chair for the Lake Tahoe Visitors Authority and chairman of the Douglas County Airport Authority. He is a past chairman of NVAR’s Legislative Committee and is a past president of the Sierra Nevada Association of REALTORS® (SNAR).
  • Marcella Syme, of Elko, Nev. – REALTOR® Achievement Award for outstanding service to local and state associations, as chosen by NVAR’s president. She is the 2012 president of the Elko County Association of REALTORS® who received the 2012 Elko REALTOR® of the Year award. In business for eight years, she is graduating from the 2012 LeadershipNVAR class.
  • Cheryl Delehanty, of Incline Village, Nev. – LeadershipNVAR Outstanding Graduate award. Delehanty, an NVAR member for nearly 20 years, works at Coldwell Banker Select Real Estate in Incline. A graduate of NVAR’s leadership program in 2005, she is the first recipient of this new NVAR award recognizing an outstanding graduate of the association’s leadership program, now in its 13th year. The award recognizes the service, leadership, vision and positive results of the outstanding graduate. In addition to her professional accomplishments, she has chaired her local Toys for Tots Campaign for many years, touching the lives of thousands of people, including 240 families and 600 local children who received holiday gifts through the program last year.

The Nevada Association of REALTORS® is a professional trade association with nearly 14,000 members. NVAR is committed to protecting, promoting and preserving our communities. Visit www.NVAR.org.

0.00 avg. rating (0% score) - 0 votes

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Join the Informer mailing list

Check your email and confirm the subscription